Skip to content
North Ayrshire Counts — North Ayrshire, in numbers.Local help →

North Ayrshire, in numbers

People and living standards

North Ayrshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

North Ayrshire council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population fell from 138,060 in 1991 to 133,660 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

North Ayrshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 137,610 people in 1996; 133,660 people in 2025. 2.9% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — North Ayrshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991138,060
1992137,700
1993137,660
1994137,550
1995137,800
1996137,610
1997137,690
1998137,470
1999137,160
2000136,360
2001135,820
2002135,890
2003136,310
2004136,500
2005136,690
2006136,790
2007137,420
2008137,910
2009137,830
2010137,800
2011138,090
2012137,640
2013137,100
2014136,670
2015136,220
2016135,950
2017135,810
2018135,130
2019134,570
2020134,040
2021133,860
2022133,490
2023133,750
2024133,830
2025133,660
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

North Ayrshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 28,991 people in 1996; 20,529 people in 2025. 29.2% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — North Ayrshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199129,844
199229,494
199329,494
199429,538
199529,352
199628,991
199728,718
199828,275
199928,043
200027,734
200127,146
200226,781
200326,589
200426,144
200525,739
200625,556
200725,331
200825,255
200925,072
201024,677
201124,410
201224,040
201323,473
201423,167
201522,974
201622,877
201722,622
201822,436
201922,142
202021,988
202121,573
202221,214
202321,126
202420,867
202520,529
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

North Ayrshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 87,620 people in 1996; 79,559 people in 2025. 9.2% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — North Ayrshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199187,850
199287,749
199387,620
199487,467
199587,624
199687,620
199787,795
199887,850
199987,613
200086,981
200186,705
200286,810
200386,974
200487,318
200587,506
200687,554
200788,012
200888,126
200987,722
201087,583
201187,621
201286,491
201385,791
201484,971
201584,382
201683,792
201783,382
201882,526
201981,782
202081,045
202180,798
202280,451
202380,282
202479,896
202579,559
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

North Ayrshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,999 people in 1996; 33,572 people in 2025. 59.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — North Ayrshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,366
199220,457
199320,546
199420,545
199520,824
199620,999
199721,177
199821,345
199921,504
200021,645
200121,969
200222,299
200322,747
200423,038
200523,445
200623,680
200724,077
200824,529
200925,036
201025,540
201126,059
201227,109
201327,836
201428,532
201528,864
201629,281
201729,806
201830,168
201930,646
202031,007
202131,489
202231,825
202332,342
202433,067
202533,572
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 133,519 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · North Ayrshire · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total130,69897.9%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 138,146 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · North Ayrshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White136,59098.9%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller580%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group3190.2%
Asian / Asian British: Indian3280.2%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani1080.1%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi220%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese3150.2%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian1750.1%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British1480.1%
Other Ethnic Group830.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 15% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

North Ayrshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,075 per person in 1997; £22,062 per person in 2024. 173.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — North Ayrshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,075
19988,163
19998,222
20008,813
20019,489
20029,995
200310,305
200410,890
200511,288
200611,818
200712,465
200812,730
200913,077
201013,668
201113,741
201214,084
201314,710
201414,980
201515,597
201615,700
201715,824
201816,341
201917,007
202017,152
202117,599
202218,764
202320,385
202422,062
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

North Ayrshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -23.9% in 1997; -15% in 2024. 8.9 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — North Ayrshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-23.9
1998-24.6
1999-27.3
2000-26
2001-23.3
2002-21
2003-20.9
2004-19.8
2005-19.7
2006-19.3
2007-18.8
2008-19.2
2009-18.3
2010-15.4
2011-15.7
2012-16.6
2013-16
2014-17.2
2015-18
2016-18.5
2017-19.7
2018-19.9
2019-19.3
2020-18.3
2021-19.4
2022-18.3
2023-16.6
2024-15
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

20.4%

20 March 2022 · North Ayrshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · North Ayrshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£144,000

July 2026 · North Ayrshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.